Duke of Edinburgh's Award

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award is a national scheme where young people achieve an Award by completing a personal programme of activities.

 There are three levels to the Award:

• Bronze (for pupils in Year 9 upwards)
• Silver (for pupils in Year 10 upwards)
• Gold (for pupils in Year 12 upwards)

To achieve the award, pupils have to participate in activities in four sections.


Pupils develop a new skill or improve an existing one. Skills such as instrumental music teaching, participation in LAMDA or STEM or developing new skills out of school such as cooking and photography can be used in this section.


Pupils take part in sporting activity in or out of school. Sports can include football, rugby, dance and also regular swimming or running out of school.


Pupils can volunteer at the Baytree Centre in Brixton; at local youth clubs or Brownie packs or help in charity shops and day centres for the elderly.


A group camping trip involving a walk from one given point to another with campsite stops (one night for Bronze, two for Silver and three for Gold) on the way. Groups need to navigate for themselves, cook their own meals and support one another. The Bronze Assessed Expedition takes place in the Surrey Hills and the Silver Expedition takes place near the Dorset coast.

Through the DofE programme, pupils develop the skills and attitudes they need to become more rounded, confident adults as well as growing as a person, developing their friendships and having a lot of fun.

Website Duke of Edinburgh’s Award